•   info@malawilawsociety.net
  •   +265 1 821 043


English Afrikaans French

Executive Commitee Members

Khumbo B Soko
Khumbo Bonzoe Soko


Khumbo is a first born in a family of three. He is a graduate of the Universities of Malawi and Warwick in Coventry, England where he was awarded a Bachelor of Laws (Honours) and Master of Laws degree in International Economic Law (with distinction) respectively. Khumbo has been admitted as an advocate of the High Court of Malawi since May 13, 2010. His areas of practice have included criminal law, unjust enrichment, constitutional and human rights law (with a focus on rights of LGBTI persons), personal injury law, employment law and commercial law. Since November 2014 he has been managing his own practice Soko & Co, based in Lilongwe, Malawi’s capital city specialised in commercial law litigation and advisory services in the areas of human rights, good governance and foreign investments law. He was elected President for the Malawi Law Society on February 25th 2017. He had previously served as the Society’s Honorary Secretary from February, 2014 to February, 2017. Khumbo has been married to Hilda since November 1, 2014 and together they have a son, Muliko Chiharo Soko.


Matumika Banda
David Matumika Banda

Vice President

Mr David Matumika Banda is a Legal Practitioner with Nyirenda & Msisha Law Offices (N & M). Before joining N & M he served as Senior Legal Aid Advocate, in the Ministry of Justice. Mr Banda holds a Bachelor of Laws (Honours) from the University of Malawi. He has particular interest in Employment and Pension Law, Commercial Law and Legal Drafting. He has, of late, also taken interest in Human Rights activism. Mr Banda is also serving as Director in Business Partners International (SME) Fund Ltd and in Business Partner International (Advisor) Limited





Michael Goba Chipeta

Honorary Secretary

Michael Goba Chipeta holds an LLB (Hon) from the University of Malawi, Chancellor College. He is counsel of 10 years practice experience at the Malawi Bar. He currently runs his own law firm in Blantyre, Gobz & Rechtswissenschaft









Felister Dossi


Felister Dossi is the current Treasurer of the Malawi Law Society. She is working with NBS Bank Limited as Legal Services Manager. She holds a Law degree from the University of Malawi, Chancellor College and a Masters degree in Business Administration from ESAMI. Felister has been practicing since 2006.








B Mhango
Burton Mhango


B.Ed; LLB(Hons)
Partner at Mhango & Co










Martha Kaukonde


Martha Etta Kaukonde has been a member of the Malawi Law Society for more than 13 years.
She is the Director of Enforcement and Compliance for CFTC. She is an accomplished Mediator for various civil matters and as a practitioner; she represented more than twenty notable corporate clients and various individual litigants in civil, criminal and labour matters.
She is a member of Women Lawyers Association (WLA) and has championed access to justice for the most vulnerable in the society. She has represented both CFTC and WLA in international conferences 2013. She is currently studying for an MBA with ESAMI.


TADALA Picture
Tadala Chinkwezule


Tadala Peggy Chinkwezule is a seasoned legal practitioner with seven years’ experience. She currently practices as a corporate lawyer and works for AHL Group as the Legal Services Manager. She is the Company Secretary of AHL Chemicals and Steel Company Limited, a subsidiary of the Group. She previously worked as Legal Counsel at Malawi Revenue Authority.
Tadala holds a Master of Laws degree in Human Rights and Democratisation in Africa from University of Pretoria; a Bachelor of Laws degree (Honours) from University of Malawi and is a fellow of the ILFA program. Tadala serves on several Boards, has published an article in the Students Law Journal (2010) and has presented papers at high profile conferences such as the SADC Lawyers Association Conference. She is a member of the Women Lawyers Association of Malawi (WLAM) and provides legal assistance on pro bono basis through WLAM.

Sign Up to Our Mailing List

Stay up-to-date by signing up for our Professional Update mailing list..

MLS on Twitter

MLS public lecture on Injunctions! this Friday 12 Jan, 2018 at Capital Hotel, from 6:00 pm https://t.co/ncrMuriDfw
Follow Malawi Law Society on Twitter

Contact Information

Malawi Law Society
Delamere House,
2nd Floor,
Blantyre, Malawi

+265 1 821 043

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

8.00 am to 5.00 pm